I Am FINALLY Done Working On Anomaly

AnomalyFinalPic

HOLY FUCKING SHIT!!! I FINALLY DID IT!!! I’m finally done working on this fucking game. To celebrate, I posted a picture of a part of Anomaly above. It was boring as fuck playing through it Graham’s number of times before I finally, just yesterday, played through the whole thing, for the first time, without noticing any errors. It was difficult trying to put myself into the mindset of someone who is playing the game for the first time, because I already know everything that is going to happen. I don’t know what the gamer will be thinking when playing through it without knowing anything. I think that some game developer dude said that you never really finish games – you just stop working on them. I’m going to stop working on it, now. I’m sorry to the Opera browser users who are running Opera on Windows 7. You probably will not be able to hear the sound. You’ll have to use a different browser…or a different operating system. I can’t be fucking around with this game, anymore, to fix that issue. I have, already, spent FAR too much time working on this game, given the simplicity of it.

So, I have been thinking about how to describe Anomaly. I have heard of a few games that have sounded like they might be similar, in idea, to Anomaly. Games like Gone Home, Dear Esther, Everybody’s Gone To The Rapture, and To The Moon sound, to me, like they are similar in gameplay to Anomaly. However, there are other aspects of those games that seem different than Anomaly, like the fact that Anomaly is more linear and has a better story, as best I can tell. There is, also, the issue of how I have never played any of the games mentioned in this post, (besides Anomaly, of course) so I can’t be confident in my judgement of those games because I have never played them. Basically, what I would say is if you like those games, but you wish that they had better, more linear stories, and you wish that they had shitty graphics, then Anomaly is the game for you!

This will probably be my final update for Anomaly before it is released. Don’t get all excited, just yet, though, because it may still be a while before Anomaly is out. As I have said before, I don’t know shit about what I’m doing in the game development world. I’m thinking that my best bet might be to submit to gamejolt.com. I think that they do everything in Paypal, so I am probably going to have to go through the headache of getting a Paypal account that I, otherwise, would not need. I wish that someone could send me a check, physically, in the mail, and I think that a site like kongregate.com will do that, but I am worried that they will “hide” my game. If I remember properly, their FAQ page says that they will hide games if they rank too low among the gamers and you will not be able to find them without searching, if they do hide them. I still have a lot of shit to work out, so, as I said, above, don’t get too excited, just yet.

Leave a Reply

